

The College of Communications is committed to advancing a democratic society by preparing students to function in a wide variety of communication professions. With a strong tradition in the liberal arts and social sciences, the academic programs of the College share a common theoretical base which identifies the elements of human communication and the principles governing their use in all communicative processes essential to contemporary society, namely, the spoken and written word and visual images. Specialized programs in advertising, communication theory and process, intercultural, interpersonal, organizational communication, communication studies, communicative disorders, entertainment studies, journalism, photocommunications, public relations, and radio television/film make up the basic curricula of the College. These programs of study lead to traditional academic degrees for undergraduates and graduates, to state credentials aid licenses, to professional certification, and to entry into graduate and professional degree programs.

Academic programs in the College of Communications prepare students to function as professionals in the fields of business, education, government, entertainment, and in media and health related careers. Ancillary educational experiences are available through the campus daily newspaper, audio and video production recording studios, television facility, forensics program, speech and hearing clinic, the Center for Children who Stutter, Tusk magazine and internships in professional settings.

The College of Communications was established in 1989 when the Department of Communications and the Department of Speech Communications came together to form the School of Communications. Dr. David Sachsman from Rutgers University was named the first dean of the school, and he assisted in building a strong governing infrastructure for the school. When he left in 1992, Dr. Elizabeth Mechling from California State University, Hayward, was hired to serve as dean. During Dr. Mechling's tenure, student enrollment increased and additional faculty were hired to accommodate student demand.

In 1996, Dr. Rick Pullen was named dean after serving as associate dean for four years, and in 1997 Dr. Fred Zandpour was appointed as associate dean. The College was faced with a growing population as well as increased needs to secure equipment for laboratories to keep up with changing technology. The school continued to grow and faculty and staff were housed in four different buildings on campus. In addition, classrooms were spread across the campus. The school became a college in 1999, and in December 2000, the College of Communications moved to College Park, and into a 10-story building that previously housed the executive offices of the Hunt-Wesson Company. Three and one half floors of the building were remolded to meet the needs of the College of Communications. All faculty are housed in College Park, and the majority of upper division and graduate classes are taught in the building.

The College of Communications continues to grow at a rate of about 4% each year and now has 69 full-time faculty positions. Because of this growth and for other pedagogical reasons, a third department, the department of Radio-Television-Film, was established in the fall of 2001. The College has approximately 3,000 students.

ISSN 1330-0067 Coden: IORME 7