THE ROUSSEL PRIZE 1990

In view of the ever growing importance of steroids in therapeutic medicine, the Roussel Uclaf Group created in 1968 an international Prize intended to encourage research in this particular area.

The Prize is awarded every two years to a chemist, biochemist or physiologist whose work has been selected as the most outstanding by an international committe of distinguished scientists.

Awardees of the previous Rousell Prizes were:

- in 1970, Pr. W. S. Johnson for his work on non-enzymatic biogenetic-like steroid synthesis,
- in 1972, Pr. J. W. Cornforth for his work on the enzymes of cholesterol biosynthesis,
- in 1974, **Pr. E. Kodicek and H. F. DeLuca** for their work on metabolites and the mechanism of action of cholecalciferol,
- in 1976, Pr. E. E. Baulieu and E. V. Jensen for their work on hormone receptors,
- in 1978, Pr. R. C. Breslow and G. Stork for their work on the chemistry and synthesis of steroids,
- in 1980, Pr. K. Arima and C. J. Sih for their work on the microbiological degradation of the sterol side chain,
- in 1982, Pr. P. Benveniste and T. W. Goodwin for their work on the biosynthesis of phytosterols,
- in 1984, **Pr. S. Lieberman** for his work on the biosynthesis, biochemistry and physiology of steroid hormones,
- in 1986, Pr. P. Albrecht and G. Ourisson for their work on identification and study of terpenoids,
- in 1988, **Pr. C. Djerassi** for his work on the isolation, determination of structure, synthesis and biosynthesis of marine sterols.

The next Roussel Prize (\$ 20,000), which is scheduled in April 1990, is intended to reward one or more researchers for outstanding work on steroids and other squalenoids published before September 30th, 1980.

The composition of the Jury for the year 1990 is as follows:

President: Sir Derek Barton

Members: Professors M. Akhtar, J. Gorski, N. Ikekawa, J. Mathieu, G. Quinkert, C. J. Sih

Candidates for the Prize may be of any nationality and from any laboratory.

Nominations should be put forward by a person of high scientific standing, by means of the appropriate form bearing the names of two referees and addressed to the President of the Jury or to the Secretariat of the Roussel Prize, before October 1st, 1989.

Forms and any further information may be obtained from the Secretariat on request.

Secretariat of the Roussel Prize Institut Scientifique Roussel 35, Boulevard des Invalides 75007 Paris (France)