THE ROUSSEL PRIZE 1984

In view of the ever growing importance of steroids in therapeutic medicine, the well-known French Pharmaceutical Company ROUSSEL created in 1968 an international Prize intended to stimulate further new reasearch in this particular area.

The Prize is given every two years to a chemist or a biochemist whose work has been chosen as the most outstanding by an International Committee of distinguished scientists in the field.

The preceding Roussel Prizes were awarded:

- in 1970, to Pr. W. S. JOHNSON for his work on non-enzymatic biogenetic-like steroid synthesis,
- in 1972, to Pr. J. W. CORNFORTH for his work on the enzymes of cholesterol biosynthesis,
- in 1974, to Pr. E. KODICEK and H. F. DeLUCA for their work on metabolites and mechanism of action of cholecalciferol,
- in 1976, to Pr. E. E. BAULIEU and E. V. JENSEN for their work on hormone receptors,
- in 1978, to Pr. R. BRESLOW and G. STORK for their work on the chemistry and synthesis of steroids,
- in 1980, to Pr. K. ARIMA and C. J. SIH for their work on the microbiological degradation of the sterol side chain,
- in 1982, to Pr. P. BENVENISTE and T. W. GOODWIN for their work on the biosynthesis of phytosterols.

The next Prize (\$ 20,000) which is scheduled for April 1984 will be concerned with outstanding work on Chemistry and Biochemistry of Steroids and other Squalenoids published before September 30th 1983.

The composition of the Award Committee for the year 1984 is as follows:

President: Sir Derek BARTON

Members: Pr. E. J. COREY, A. CRASTES DE PAULET, V. H. T. JAMES, L. MARTINI, K. NAKANISHI, Yu. A. OVCHINNIKOV

Secretary: Pr. J. MATHIEU

Candidates for the Prize may be of any nationality and from any laboratory. Nominations should be presented and supported by a personnality of high scientific level, on the appropriate form with the names of two referees, to the President or the Secretary of the Jury, before October 1st, 1983.

Forms and additional information are available from the Secretary on request.

Professor J. MATHIEU
Centre de Recherches
Roussel Uclaf
102, route de Noisy
93230 Romainville (France)