OBAVIJESTI

ANNOUNCEMENTS

ROUSSEL PRIZE 1972

In view of the ever growing importance of steroids in therapeutic medicine, the French pharmaceutical Company Roussel created in 1969 an international Prize intended to stimulate further new research in this particular area.

The \$ 6,000 prize is given every two years to a chemist or biochemist whose work has been chosen as the best by an international Committee of outstanding scientists in the field.

The first *Roussel Prize* was awarded to Professor W. S. Johnson for his work on non-enzymatic biogenetic-like steroid synthesis. The appropriate lecture was delivered on June 17th 1970 on Paris at the celebratoon of the fiftieth anniversary of the Roussel group foundation.

The composition of the Award Committee for the year 1972 is as follows:

Président: Professor D. H. R. Barton

Members: Professors D. Arigoni, K. Bloch, L. Canonica, M. Fe-

tizon, J. Jacques, G. Stork.

Secretary: Professor J. Mathieu

Candidates for the Prize may be of any nationality and from any laboratory. They should be introduced by a person of high scientific standing and supported by two other referees.

The Prize is not intended to reward a scientific career but to honour original and pioneering work in the steroid field.

The next Prize, which will be concerned specially with work published between January 1st 1970 and December 31st 1971, will be awarded in June 1972.

The Jury will however also take account on work published before these date if it is specially relevant to the more recent advances.

Nomination should be submitted to the President or to the Secretary before March 1st 1972. Any supplementary information can be obtained from the Secretary.

Professor J. MATHIEU Centre de Recherches ROUSSEL — UCLAF 93. ROMAINVILLE FRANCE