

III. GENERAL INFORMATION

Senate of the Academy (2015–2019)

Presidency

President | Felix Unger

Honorary President Nikolaus Lobkowicz

Vice-President Brigitte Tag
Vice-President Štefan Luby
Vice-President Michał Kleiber

Treasurer Karl Salm Reifferscheidt

Secretary Maria Anna Eder

Deans

Humanities | Helmut Reinalter

Medicine Peter A. Winkler

Arts Peter Weibel

Natural Sciences Klaus Mainzer

Social Sciences, Law and Kurt Schmoller

Economics

Technical and Environmental Maks Babuder (a.i.)

Sciences

World Religions | Elmar Kuhn

Corporate and Public Governance | Stefan Schepers

Advisory Senators

Wilfried Bergmann Stefan Brunnhuber Jean-Pierre Massué Konrad Meßmer Ludvik Toplak Stefan Zimmermann

Electors

Rémi Brague Maurizio Luigi Cumo Jíří Drahoš Michał Kleiber Štefan Luby Attila Pók Boštjan Žekš

Honorary Members

Protectors

H.M. King Philippe of Belgium Milo Đukanović (Montenegro) Gjorge Ivanov (Macedonia) H.R.H. Jean de Luxembourg Borut Pahor (Slovenia) Alexander Van der Bellen (Austria)

Former Protectors

Andris Bērziņš Jerzy Buzek Flavio Cotti H.M. Juan Carlos de Borbón Joseph Deiss Heinz Fischer Ivan Gašparovič Ivo Josipović Milan Kučan Norbert Lammert Doris Leuthard Tomislav Nikolić Karolos Papoulias Romano Prodi Jacques Santer Rudolf Schuster

Danilo Türk

Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga Franz Vranitzky Valdis Zatlers Ferdinand K. Piëch Peter Ramsauer Petra Roth Jürgen Rüttgers Sigram Schindler Rudolf Scholten Leo A. Seufert Michael Spindelegger Dorothee Stapelfeldt Klaus Stierstadt Janis Stradinš Erwin Teufel Guy Verhofstadt Christian Wulff

Honorary Senators

Tibor Asbóth
Dora Bakoyannis
Sali Berisha
France Bernik
Karl Bornschein
Erhard Busek
Gianni de Michelis
Franz Fischler

Alfred Gusenbauer
Erich Hödl
Erwin Huber
Daisaku Ikeda
Jean-Claude Juncker
Viktor Klima
Andreas Penk

Nobel Prize Laureates

2000, Physics
1978, Medicine
1986, Physics
2004, Chemistry
1995, Chemistry
1967, Chemistry
2013, Physics
2007, Chemistry
2010, Physics
1990, Peace
2007, Physics
2005, Physics
2008, Medicine
2013, Physics
2011, Physiology or Medicine

1988, Chemistry
2001, Physiology or Medicine
2000, Physiology or Medicine
2001, Physics
1985, Peace
2008, Medicine
1991, Physics
2010, Physics
2001, Chemistry

Zhores I. Alferov Werner Arber Gerd Binnig Aaron Ciechanover Paul J. Crutzen Manfred Eigen François Englert Gerhard Ertl Andre Geim

Gerhard Ertl
Andre Geim
Mikhail Gorbatschow
Peter Grünberg
Theodor W. Hänsch
Harald zur Hausen
Peter Higgs
Jules A. Hoffmann
Robert Huber
Tim Hunt
Eric Kandel
Wolfgang Ketterle
Bernhard Lown
Luc Montagnier
Erwin Neher

Konstantin Novoselov

Ryoji Noyori

Nobel Prize Laureates (cont.)

2001, Medicine 2006, Economics 2011, Physics 2011, Chemistry 2002, Economics 2016, Chemistry 1981, Medicine 2002, Chemistry Sir Paul Nurse Edmund S. Phelps Brian P. Schmidt Dan Shechtman Joseph E. Stiglitz Fraser Stoddart Torsten N. Wiesel Kurt Wüthrich

Headquarter Salzburg



Office (f.l.t.r.): Franziska Huber, Christine Greco, Susanne Bieregger; Foto: wildbild/ herbert rohrer

The Academy is situated in St. Peter in the heart of Salzburg and is managed by

- + Christine Greco (Chief of the Cabinet)
- Franziska Huber, M.A. B.A. (International Relations & Marketing)
- Mag. Susanne Bieregger, M.A. (Membership Department)



Headquarter Salzburg, St. Peter Bezirk 10, Foto: European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Austrian Foundation

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts holds a foundation in Austria entitled Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea Privatstiftung. It was established on 24th of November 2004 in Vienna. The foundation aims at raising additional funds for the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

Executive Board

Unger Felix, Von Schöning Wichard, Groeger Herbert

Supervisory Board

Raidl Claus, Schmid Hans, Manstein Hans-Jörg, Thun-Hohenstein Christoph, Kickinger Roland, Heubach Rainer

Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea Privatstiftung St. Peter Bezirk 10 5020 Salzburg Austria

Swiss Foundation

The Swiss Foundation was established on March 18th 2004 in Zurich.

Supervisory Board

Tag Brigitte (President)
Jorio Marco (Vice-President)
Holderegger Adrian (Member)
Studer Stefan (Secretary)

IV. EVENTS 2018

January Prize of Tolerance to Marko Feingold, Salzburg

100 Jahre Eugen Biser, Salzburg

February Visit of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Salzburg

> International Mozart Competition 2018, Mozarteum University,

Salzburg

100. Jahrestag der Wiedererrichtung des georgischorthodoxen Patriarchats, Tiflis

March Symposium Digitalisation, Salzburg

> Festive Session 2018 (evening reception), Salzburg

Festive Session 2018 (inauguration of new members), Salzburg

10th International | 10th German-Japanese Symposium on Nanostructures, Wenden, Germany

May 12th annual RIN Baška GNSS Conference, Baška, Croatia

> European and Global Conference and Exhibition for Clinical Nanomedicine and Targeted

Medicine, Basel

Kongress "Kairos - den Wandel gestalten" Bad Kissingen,

Germany

June

June

Inauguration of President Alexander Van der Bellen as Protector of Austria, Vienna

August

Munich International Summer University – European Studies, Salzburg

September

11th European and Global Summit for Clinical Nanomedicine, Targeted Delivery and Precision Medicine, Basel

"Revisiting Values and Rights in a Digitalising World", Helsinki

International Conference
- Advanced Ceramics and
Applications VII, Belgrade

Chiemgauer Kardiologietage 2018, Chieming

 Mannheimer Ethik-Symposium, Mannheim

Drei Jahre nach der spontanen Grenzöffnung: Was wir geschafft haben – eine Zwischenbilanz, Schwerin, Germany

"Next Europe": Venice Declaration

– Manifesto for Europe, Venice

October

Internationales Symposium anlässlich des 100. Geburtstages von Eugen Biser: GEISTESGEGENWART. Religion – Zeitanalyse – Demokratie, Berlin

9th Danube-Academies-Conference, Stuttgart

The 10th International Symposium on Neurocardiology, Belgrade November Rings of Tolerance, Cologne

> Christen und die Verantwortung für Bildung in Europa. Historische, weltanschauliche und juristische

Aspekte, Vienna

December

7th Salzburg Hands-on Workshop on Microsurgical and Endovascular

Techniques, Salzburg

17th Christmas Symposium of

Physicists, Maribor

Festive Session 2018

On March 3rd the Academy celebrated our 28th Festive Session. The festivities started with a symposium on Digitalisation on 2nd March, chaired and organised by Klaus Mainzer.



Festive Session 2018, Foto: wildbild/herbert rohrer

Symposium Digitalisation

2nd March 2018, Salzburg

Programme

Introduction (14:30)

Chairman: Klaus Mainzer, Munich

Digitalisation in Medicine: Impact on Research and Patients Peter Buckel, Munich

On the Possibility to control the Industrial Society with a Revolutionary Technology Hans G. Danielmeyer, Stuttgart

Digitalisation – challenges between changing social securitisation and changing production and work Peter Herrmann, Rome

About Women, Men, and Robots Tiziana Catarci, Rome

Break

Mechanisation, industrialisation, automation, digitalisation – Kondratiev at work Markus Müller, Frankfurt

Digital Construction of Reality Wolfgang Schmale, Vienna

Why this Time It Is Different: Are We Prepared Wolfgang Price, Vienna

Discussion

Closing (17:45)

Supported by:

Deutsche Bank Wealth Management





F.I.t.r.: Josef Schöchl, Brigitte Tag, Karoline Edtstadler, Felix Unger; Foto: wildbild/herbert rohrer



Symposium Digitalisation, Foto: European Academy of Sciences and Arts