Eleventh scientific meeting Prostate tumors

AUTHOR:

Toni Zekulić

On December 6, 2024, the eleventh scientific meeting, *Prostate tumors*, was held at the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts. The meeting was opened by the full members of the Academy, academician Vida Demarin secretary of the Department of Medical Sciences, academician Zvonko Kusić and academician Željko Kaštelan. At the meeting, experts from Croatia presented the results, achievements and developments in the diagnosis and treatment of prostate cancer, which is the most common cancer in men, the number of cases of which is growing annually. The meeting was attended by more than 150 specialists in urology, oncology and radiotherapy, pathology, radiology and nuclear medicine from all Croatian clinical hospital centers as well as numerous clinical

and general hospitals. Previous algorithms and patterns of diagnosis and treatment were analyzed and discussed, which were compared with world trends. The initial results of a Special program for screening and early detection of prostate cancer implemented in the city of Zagreb were presented. Methods and results of prostate cancer diagnosis were discussed, with an emphasis on pathohistology, magnetic resonance and transrectal microultrasound used for prostate biopsy. The experiences with Senhance and da Vinci at KBC Zagreb, and Hugo RAS, at KBC Split, robotic platforms were presented. The results of major international studies concerning the use of modern drugs and radiotherapy in the treatment of advanced prostate cancer, which are already being applied



in the Republic of Croatia, were presented. Finally, the complexity of prostate cancer treatment was emphasized along with the need for an individualized and multidisciplinary approach and cooperation between specialties and institutions.

The organizing committee of the meeting consisted of Željko Kaštelan as president and Ana Fröbe as vice-president and members Maja Baučić. Marija Gamulin, Tvrtko Hudolin, Tomislav Kuliš, Tomislav Omrčen, Igor Tomašković and Ivan Šamija. The scientific committee consisted of full members of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, Department of Medical Sciences.

