FIFTY YEARS OF NEUROPSYCHOPHARMACOLOGY

Zdravko Lacković

Laboratory of Molecular Neuropsihopharmacology, Department of Pharmacology & Croatian Brain Research Institute, University of Zagreb School of Medicine

In the fifty years since the first Pula congress a lot has changed in neuropsychopharmacology. Granted, the major groups of psychoactive drugs had already been discovered: neuroleptics, antidepressants, benzodiazepine anxiolitics, psychostimulants... Neurology was using the basic antiepileptics while, for example, the treatments for vascular and immunological diseases were more expectative. At the time of the first Pula congress in 1960 we had only just discovered that myasthenia gravis is an autoimmune disease. It is also the year when dopamine deficiency in the brain of Parkinsonian patients was discovered, a finding which was to revolutionize understanding and treatment of this disease. The last fifty years have also seen a proliferation of approaches to therapy and the success of these medical fields has grown considerably. During this time, more than twenty researchers have been awarded the Nobel Prize for research related to functioning of the nervous system and have or will have a significant influence on the development of new drugs. The greatest breakthroughs still waiting for clinical implementation have been in the field of basic research. Discoveries of excitotoxicity mediated by glutamate receptors as well as neurogenesis in adults are creating brand new hypotheses on the pathophysiology of different psychiatric and neurological diseases ranging from schizophrenia and drug abuse to ALS. However, speaking subjectively, there are two developments that had the deepest and strongest impact on pharmacology. First was the discovery of endogenous opioids based on the inquiry into real function of different pharmacological receptors in our organism. This discovery has shown that the so-called pharmacological receptors did not evolve solely for the purpose of drug-deliverance but that they also have a physiological purpose in the functioning of an organism. The second important event was the discovery

of methodology of reverse pharmacology - instead of a classic approach, nowadays receptors are more and more often synthesized from the human genome followed by search for their endogenous ligands and possibilities of their pharmacological manipulation. Through this, we now have orexines (hypocretins) as key neurotransmitters of wakefulness. By reverse pharmacology we have discovered such receptors as the new opioid receptor ORL1 and its endogenous ligand, nociceptin and finally, after several decades of different assumptions, the prolactin-stimulating factor. What is especially intriguing and motivating is the fact that there are still hundreds of G-protein receptors, nuclear receptors and synaptic receptors waiting for researchers to discover their function and useful implementation through pharmacology.

Pharmacology in 60'

Nobel prizes in Pharmacology

Fundamental change in conepts: coexistence ofneurotransmitors, the question what really pharmacological reseptors Endogenous opioids, endozapines, endocanabinoids

Fundamentaly new reserch strategy: "Reverse pharmacology. Orexins, Prolactin stumulating factor

- 2009 Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Carol W. Greider, Jack W. Szostak
- 2008 Harald zur Hausen, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Luc Montagnier
- 2007 Mario R. Capecchi, Sir Martin J. Evans, Oliver Smithies
- 2006 Andrew Z. Fire, Craig C. Mello
- 2005 Barry J. Marshall, J. Robin Warren
- 2004 Richard Axel, Linda B. Buck
- 2003 Paul C. Lauterbur, Sir Peter Mansfield
- 2002 Sydney Brenner, H. Robert Horvitz, John E. Sulston
- 2001 Leland H. Hartwell, Tim Hunt, Sir Paul Nurse

Z. Lacković

- 2000 Arvid Carlsson, Paul Greengard, Eric R. Kandel
- 1999 Günter Blobel
- 1998 Robert F. Furchgott, Louis J. Ignarro, Ferid Murad
- 1997 Stanley B. Prusiner
- 1996 Peter C. Doherty, Rolf M. Zinkernagel
- 1995 Edward B. Lewis, Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, Eric F. Wieschaus
- 1994 Alfred G. Gilman, Martin Rodbell
- 1993 Richard J. Roberts, Phillip A. Sharp
- 1992 Edmond H. Fischer, Edwin G. Krebs
- 1991 Erwin Neher, Bert Sakmann
- 1990 Joseph E. Murray, E. Donnall Thomas
- 1989 J. Michael Bishop, Harold E. Varmus
- 1988 Sir James W. Black, Gertrude B. Elion, George H. Hitchings
- 1987 Susumu Tonegawa
- 1986 Stanley Cohen, Rita Levi-Montalcini
- 1985 Michael S. Brown, Joseph L. Goldstein
- 1984 Niels K. Jerne, Georges J.F. Köhler, César Milstein
- 1983 Barbara McClintock
- 1982 Sune K. Bergström, Bengt I. Samuelsson, John R. Vane
- 1981 Roger W. Sperry, David H. Hubel, Torsten N. Wiesel

- 1980 Baruj Benacerraf, Jean Dausset, George D. Snell
- 1979 Allan M. Cormack, Godfrey N. Hounsfield
- 1978 Werner Arber, Daniel Nathans, Hamilton O. Smith
- 1977 Roger Guillemin, Andrew V. Schally, Rosalyn Yalow
- 1976 Baruch S. Blumberg, D. Carleton Gajdusek
- 1975 David Baltimore, Renato Dulbecco, Howard M. Temin
- 1974 Albert Claude, Christian de Duve, George E. Palade
- 1973 Karl von Frisch, Konrad Lorenz, Nikolaas Tinbergen
- 1972 Gerald M. Edelman, Rodney R. Porter
- 1971 Earl W. Sutherland, Jr.
- 1970 Sir Bernard Katz, Ulf von Euler, Julius Axelrod
- 1969 Max Delbrück, Alfred D. Hershey, Salvador E. Luria
- 1968 Robert W. Holley, H. Gobind Khorana, Marshall W. Nirenberg
- 1967 Ragnar Granit, Haldan K. Hartline, George Wald
- 1966 Peyton Rous, Charles B. Huggins
- 1965 François Jacob, André Lwoff, Jacques Monod
- 1964 Konrad Bloch, Feodor Lynen
- 1963 Sir John Eccles, Alan L. Hodgkin, Andrew F. Huxley
- 1962 Francis Crick, James Watson, Maurice Wilkins
- 1961 Georg von Békésy
- 1960 Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet, Peter Medawar