Rut Carek*

Croatian Commission for UNESCO (Zagreb, Croatia)

The Croatian Commission for UNESCO was created as an advisory body of the Government in July 1992. Since 2004 it is attached to the Ministry of Culture and its department for UNESCO, which operates within the Directorate for International Cultural Cooperation.

The Croatian National Commission consists of the following bodies:

- The General Assembly
- The Executive Committee, which is composed of 7 members (Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, and Chairpersons of the Programme Committees of the Commission)
- Five Programme Committees dealing with:
 - Education
 - Natural Sciences
 - Social Sciences and Humanities
 - Culture
 - Communication and Information

The National Commission is composed of 17 members representing various governmental departments and ministries, institutions, agencies and individual experts. The Commission meets in plenary more than five times a year. The President of the

^{*} Secretary-General/Croatian Commission for UNESCO, Ministry of Culture, Zagreb, Croatia

Commission is Academician Vladimir Marković, and the Secretary General is Rut Carek.

Besides being active in all fields of UNESCO, we consider the organisation's normative work very important and have been working on promoting and facilitating the ratifications of UNESCO conventions and declarations:

- Convention on the Protection of the Diversity of Cultural Contents and Artistic Expression (ratified in May 2006)
- Convention on the Protection of the Intangible Heritage of Humanity (ratified in May 2005)
- Convention on the Protection of Underwater Cultural Heritage (ratified in December 2004)
- Convention against Doping in Sports (ratified in October 2007).