hrcak mascot   Srce   HID

Review article


Želimir Delač ; Agencija za sigurnost željezničkog prometa

Fulltext: croatian, pdf (319 KB) pages 23-29 downloads: 334* cite
APA 6th Edition
Delač, Ž. (2017). PRIPREMA I PROVEDBA ČETVRTOGA ŽELJEZNIČKOG PAKETA. Željeznice 21, 16 (3), 23-29. Retrieved from
MLA 8th Edition
Delač, Želimir. "PRIPREMA I PROVEDBA ČETVRTOGA ŽELJEZNIČKOG PAKETA." Željeznice 21, vol. 16, no. 3, 2017, pp. 23-29. Accessed 4 Mar. 2021.
Chicago 17th Edition
Delač, Želimir. "PRIPREMA I PROVEDBA ČETVRTOGA ŽELJEZNIČKOG PAKETA." Željeznice 21 16, no. 3 (2017): 23-29.
Delač, Ž. (2017). 'PRIPREMA I PROVEDBA ČETVRTOGA ŽELJEZNIČKOG PAKETA', Željeznice 21, 16(3), pp. 23-29. Available at: (Accessed 04 March 2021)
Delač Ž. PRIPREMA I PROVEDBA ČETVRTOGA ŽELJEZNIČKOG PAKETA. Željeznice 21 [Internet]. 2017 [cited 2021 March 04];16(3):23-29. Available from:
Ž. Delač, "PRIPREMA I PROVEDBA ČETVRTOGA ŽELJEZNIČKOG PAKETA", Željeznice 21, vol.16, no. 3, pp. 23-29, 2017. [Online]. Available: [Accessed: 04 March 2021]

The European Commission published its 4th Railway Package (4RWP) on 31st of January 2013. It is a large and complex set of six legislative proposals (mesures) aiming at removing the remaining barriers and creating of the single European rail area. The Package includes three legislative groups of proposals (measures) which focus on governance structure in relation to infrastructure management and transport operations (the “governance pillar”), opening of the market for domestic rail passanger transport service (the “market opening pillar”) and establishing consistent approvals (authorisations) procedures for railway interoperability and safety (the “technical pillar”). Based on the new legislative acts of the technical pillar, the European Union Agency for Railways will be provided with new responsibilities in issuing Vehicle Authorisations (VA), granting Single Safety Certificates (SSC) and checking ERTMS (trackside technical solutions). All applications for VA/SSC and ERTMS will have to be submitted through the One Stop Shop (OSS) which will have to be developed and managed by the ERA. For National Safety Authorities (NSAs), the 4th RWP will also represent a big change where they will have to cooperate with the ERA in tasks which were before in their domain of responsibility. Furthermore, NSAs will have to establish its Competency Management System and to secure appropriate human resources to be competent for the Pool of Experts (PoE). The roadmap for the 4RWP consists the three main phases, development phase, shadow running and final phase when the ERA will start with its new tasks by 1st of June 2019. Member states shall bring into force its laws and other legal acts to comply with new (recasted) safety nad interoperability directives by 16th of June 2019.

4th Railway Package; European Commission; European Union Agency for Railways; National Safety Authority; single European rail area; Single Safety Certication; Vehicle Authorization; Pool of Experts

Hrčak ID: 189459



Visits: 509 *