Skoči na glavni sadržaj

Izvorni znanstveni članak

The western Balkans and EU multilingualism: A focus on translation and interpreting

Antony Hoyte-West orcid id ; Independent scholar, United Kingdom

Puni tekst: engleski pdf 548 Kb

str. 43-65

preuzimanja: 123



To date, four countries in the western Balkans have attained EU candidate country status: Albania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia. However, little research has focused on the logistics of how the official languages of these countries will eventually be incorporated as official and working languages of the EU. Therefore, in contextualising the unique historical, political and sociolinguistic situation of the western Balkans, this literature-based study examines current translation and interpreting provision for Albanian, Macedonian, Montenegrin, and Serbia within the EU’s language services. In addition, specific attention is focused on the availability of relevant translator and interpreter training options, as well as on further areas for potential cooperation.

Ključne riječi

translation, conference interpreting, European Union, Albania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia,

Hrčak ID:



Posjeta: 278 *